Practice makes Perfect...in theory!

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Billy Kingsley, Jan 6, 2010.

1. I decided to try some more coin photography today. I should do better at this as I am a published photographer in an international magazine...but I have not been very good at coin pics.

Getting better, I think...comments welcome on the pictures or coins...

1932 Quarter
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2008 Arizona Quarter Proof. This is the first US proof I ever owned. Photographing proofs is not easy, I tried three, one of them, the pictures look nothing like the coin...this one is OK, the actual coin is flawless, the holder is not...but that is what the holder is for!
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

1914 D quarter
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

My first good picture of red copper...note the doubling, as mentioned in the big purchase of Canadian cents thread in world and ancient (not a thread I started). I didn't think to shoot the obverse, oops
    [​IMG]

My first ancient, Roman (what else?) Constantine the Great
    [​IMG]

blurred the reverse a little
    [​IMG]

1894 S half
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Panama 1974 proof (I think...)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2008 D dime...the modern, high quality, high lustre coins are proving to be harder then the circulated coins, and silver seems to photograph better then clad...wish I had more of it to practice on :)
    [​IMG]
    Again I blurred the reverse
    [​IMG]

2008 Bald Eagle Commerative half...my first (of two currently) commeratives...other side is too blurry to bother posting, I'll reshoot
    [​IMG]

This one was really hard to get as it's nearly worn smooth..1876 CC half...my only Carson City coin...too bad it's damaged on the obverse...on the other hand, it was a gift so I am still happy with it :)
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

I still have some work to do but it's a lot better then it once was. Maybe someday I'll get it where I have none that I have to reshoot for blurryness!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Treashunt