Need help! Strange numismatic question...

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by passerby, Aug 29, 2003.

1. passerby

passerby New Member

First, my apologies because I have very little knowledge about coins and coin collecting. However, I am hoping some members here might share their expertise on the subject.

I've been trying to hunt down an obscure bit of coin information with little success. I need to know the approximate value of an Italian florin ca. lat 15th century (near perfect quality) on the American market in 1921. I've checked New York coin auction catalogs from the late 19th century and early 20th, but none of the ones I've seen seem to have Italian Renaissance florins in their listings.

Does anyone here know offhand how much this coin would have sold for in 1921? Advice on where to look in terms of resource material would also be greatly appreciated.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. laz

laz New Member

[link and spammy bits removed, this is not an open advertising forum]

Address your message directly to "Answerman" who is one of our member's, Alan Herbert,of Coin World. He has access to a large numismatic reference library and will be happy to answer your question if he can locate a answer for you. Do you have this coin,or a photo of it so that we might be better able to pin it down for you? ~ Jim

4. passerby

passerby New Member

thanks!

Thanks for the advice, Jim. This thorny question has been bothering me for a while. I've posted a request to Answerman on Errorworld's messageboard.

Once again, 'thanks'. I'll be seeing you there.

5. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

Just curious passerby - but why do wish to know what it sold for in 1921 ?

Meanwhile - I'll attempt to find you an answer.

6. passerby

passerby New Member