My first Capped Bust Half Please Grade

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by rhoggman, Jul 17, 2008.

1. rhoggman

rhoggman New Member

I think this is a 1834 O-104 (R2), but I am not qualified to make this determination. This is a graded coin. I happen to think the grade may be a little low. Once again I am not an expert in Bust Coinage, but I feel it could be a AU55.

I have decided I really like bust coinage, and this is my first Capped Bust Half Dollar.

Paid $275 for this coin. I think for a type coin it is appealing. Nothing exceptional, or special about the date.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Leadfoot

Leadfoot there is no spoon

4. Leadfoot

p.s. I would suspect if the coin was graded lower than AU 55, then it was silently net graded for an old dipping/cleaning and the resulting lack of luster.

5. bqcoins

bqcoins Olympic Figure Skating Scoring System Expert

sweeeeeeeeet, drool drool

6. rzage

rzage What Goes Around Comes Around .

Beautiful type coin , AU-58 , looks like a little wear in her hair , could be wrong though , nice coin fof the money , hate to tell you what I paid for a PCGS AU-53 same year as yours Large date small letters , yours is better .
    rzage

7. rhoggman

rhoggman New Member

I'll have to wait to get this in my hands, but it looks like the luster may be present under the toning???

Either way I am pretty happy with the price. This may be a cracker coin. It was graded AU53 by DGS...

8. rzage

Is there any luster remainig , can't tell by the pictures .
    rzage

9. rhoggman

rhoggman New Member

What did you pay???? Much less I'm sure.

10. Leadfoot

DLRC scans do a terrible job at portraying luster, so I hope you're right. Please update us when it arrives!

11. rzage

Try more ,
    rzage

12. Bonedigger

Bonedigger New Member

She's a beauty easily in 58ish condition...

13. rhoggman

rhoggman New Member