Morgan Dollar 1895-O

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by volker00, Aug 26, 2009.

1. volker00

volker00 Coin Collecting Noob

Hello, I am very new to coin collecting, and don't have a full grasp of the grading standards. I bought the red book the other day and decided to go through my parents old coins. This is probably the most valuable coin in the bunch. I was hoping someone could help me out and determine its condition.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks! I'm sure I will need some more help with other coins soon! :D

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furham

furham Good Ole Boy

I am no expert, but I would grade it at VF35. Around $600. But I'm sure others with vastly more experience than me will chime in.

4. Night*Hawk

Night*Hawk Junior Member

It looks more like F12 - F15 to me..

F-12 is my call. I like to see a little more feather & hair detail for VF.

Try this photograde-like Morgan link, it may help you ballpark it:
    Remember, your good digital photos help but in hand is better.

http://coinauctionshelp.com/How_To_Grade_Morgan_Dollars.html

-Ron

5. furham

furham Good Ole Boy

I think you're probably closer than I am.:thumb:

6. Night*Hawk

Night*Hawk Junior Member

Even in F12-15 condition it could be worth around $400.

Whatever you do, don't try to clean your coins in any way!

For now, you may want to put in some type of coin holder or Airtite.

Later on I would recommmend sending that one into PCGS or NGC for slabbing.

Thanks for showing it! Looking forward to seeing some of your others.

-Ron

7. LostDutchman

LostDutchman Under Staffed & Overly Motivated Supporter

It looks to me that the coin has been cleaned at some point already. At least from those pictures.

8. Mark Feld

Mark Feld Rare coin dealer

It looks like a lightly cleaned Fine example, and as such, should be worth approximately $300.

9. raider34

raider34 Active Member

I agree with Mark.

10. volker00

Thank you all for your help!

11. CrustyCoins