Featured FS-901 DDR 1899 Barber Quarter . . . Fake?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by ToughCOINS, May 20, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

Okay, I've been hunting high and low for well over 6 months to find a second example of the rare FS-901 DDR 1899 Barber Quarter . . . and I mean high and low . . . everywhere.

Only one is presently accounted for, and its asking price is $15,000 (L&C Coins). I've searched many venues, all grades, raw and certified, everything I can think of, and invested much time in this search, especially because it seemed necessary for me to look at the reverse of the coin to identify an example, which meant taking the time to actually look at both the displayed front side and then the more important backside for the error.

Finally, wanting a front-side diagnostic which could save me 50% of the time I'd been investing in my search, I carefully studied the obverse for the first time, and discovered something completely unexpected . . . the coin is not real . . . not in my opinion anyway.

Because links may eventually be rendered useless by the removal of the on-line photos, and because I can find no published clams of of copyright on them, I've pasted them into this post to preserve them for posterity. This is in anticipation of the eventual deletion of these photos from other locations, as I expect this coin will soon become the source of some embarrassment for certain parties.

0.25-1899-ddr-1.jpg 0.25-1899-ddr-2.jpg 0.25-1899-ddr-3.jpg

The first tip-off for me was the crude lettering in the motto. The mint has never turned out a Barber Quarter with such crude characters, and I will never believe this coin to be a genuine product of the US Mint. Like myself, I think all who believed this coin was a DDR before examining it looked only at the reverse, and spent too little time on the obverse, graders included.