Hindu Coin - fantasy?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Moustan, Jan 10, 2009.

1. Moustan

Moustan New Member

Yet another wee coin I've picked up in my random buying - this time what I presume to be a hindu coin of some form due to the presence of a flying cow on one side.

Looks like a copper cast but I'm not certain on that and it's got quite a dark patina to it (purpleyish). Worryingly on one side there appears to be the remains of another layer of metal - probably just an error.

I reckon it's a fantasy coin just by the look of the thing but I've got very little experience with Asian coins aside from some colonials.

Any info would be much appreciated - I appear to have got my camera back into the trend of focusing on things so hopefully the pictures will be of great servitude to the boundless wisdom of our resident experts.

Ta

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. LSM

LSM Collector

Moustan, Spock or kidromeo my by able to help you on this coin or token. Looks like there's a nice cud on the reverse at 8:00 o'clock.

Lou

4. DCH

DCH Member

It's a 1/4 Anna from the Indian state of Indore, dated VS1943(1886). Looks like KM# 32.4

5. kidromeo

kidromeo I M LEGEND

Moustan, its not a fantasy coin but a real legal tender of the Indian princely state of Indore during British rule. Like DCH pointed, the denomination is 1/4 Anna or Pao Anna as stated in reverse in Hindi. The date on reverse is 1943 VS which equates to 1886 AD. This coin is minted from 1886-1890 and is worth around $1.50 in VG.

6. Moustan

Moustan New Member

Oh - cheers guys. The wee overcast bit on the reverse coupled with the funny rim made me think it was fantasy - guess I need to brush up on those non-existant skills :D
    Quite good that I got it for 7p then :D I'll go look up Indore. Ta much :D

7. Moustan

Moustan New Member