Green growth on coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by ljkvette, Aug 21, 2005.

1. ljkvette

ljkvette Member

I just got a bunch of old India coins. SOme of them have a green growth on them, probably reacting to the copper. How can I get rid of it, or can I??

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cherrypicker

cherrypicker New Member

Sure, you could get rid of it. :) It's not too uncommon to see this in older coins. It definately will damage the coin's value. However-it is probably better to just leave it the way it is. Odds are if you clean it the value of the coin would be less than if you left it uncleaned. If you try to remove the 'green stuff' with a tootpick or your finger nail it will almost certainly scratch the surface of the coin. You'd be amazed-I've seen some coins that have been scratched by a q-tip. Now-others might disagree with me, afterall I am just starting out in this wonderful hobby. But if they were my coins I would not clean them, I would seal them in a 2x2 or something that will protect them for the time being to prevent any future damage. Hope this helps- Bill

4. Speedy

Speedy Researching Coins Supporter

It could be PVC...if so you have to clean it...there isn't any if, and, or but...if you don't it will eat the coin untill its not a "coin"--use pure Acetone...DO NOT RUB the coin with anything...after taking it out of the Acetone put it under running water.

Speedy

5. cherrypicker

cherrypicker New Member

How can you tell if it is PVC? And does the temp. of the water when you're rinsing it matter?

6. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

I wouldn't recommend running water - no sense in having even more deposits on the coin from tap water. Use distilled water to rinse the coin - water preferably at room temperature.