Ebay opinions

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Localyokel, Dec 31, 2009.

1. Localyokel

Localyokel Junior Member

Another new guy here.
    I've been collecting for about 15 years off and on. Due to my location and family/work commitments, getting to a coin show is a rare experience for me. Over the past few months I have started more actively scouring Ebay and think I've made some good purchases. I was hoping to hear input on members opinions and experiences with both buying and selling online.
    It seems like I could be much more involved in the hobby this way but I don't want to lose my shirt doing it.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ponderossa

ponderossa Junior Member

ive got some good stuff on ebay, especially sets and certified coins, you just have to be careful and do some research

4. rzage

rzage What Goes Around Comes Around .

Ebay can be a good place to buy coins , but it can also be a nightmare . You should get Scott Tvavers book , Coin Collectors Survival Manual , it's a must read for any collector , but runs you through buying coins on Ebay , and with all the counterfeits and bad pictures and wild claims some make , it'll save you money in the long run , plus that is just one of of many areas it covers .
    rzage

5. covert coins

covert coins Coin Hoarder

Ebay is a must for some of us who live in a coin collecting black hole. Best thing is to to research you purchases before you bid. Get someone who has a good feed back score. You will build some relationships with some real honest dealers.

6. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

I buy on eBay when the correct coin gets listed.
    "Correct" coin for me means:
    - issue/date/mm/grade that I need for my collection (no impulse buying)
    - slabbed by PCGS or NGC (I do NGC Registry Sets so this is necessary)
    - correct price (my max bid is about halfway between the greysheet and Coin Values values)