Date Covered by Cud?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by alicechaos, Jan 3, 2010.

1. alicechaos

alicechaos Junior Member

Hello, and Happy New Year! Anyone ever see an error like this? I am very new to collecting coins, and I'm guessing this is a "cud". My mother-in-law gave the coin to me. She used to be a collector, but lost interest. She doesn't remember when she picked it up, other than "its been a while."

Question - By looking at the attached pictures, can anyone tell if it this is a real mint error? Thank you for any advice!

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ERROR HUNTER

ERROR HUNTER Coins,Stamps

its a fake another thread has the same coin.

4. USS656

USS656 Here to Learn Supporter

Looks like it - sorry to hear it's a fake...

5. LostDutchman

LostDutchman Under Staffed & Overly Motivated Supporter

Question,

I have seen a piece that looks identical to this one and have no doubts that it is a genuine piece...

What makes this piece a fake? This is a pretty famous coin among cud collectors. I admit the coin looks funky...could be the pics... is this a Chinese counterfeit of the famous cud?

I ask because this piece does show up in the cud book as a genuine error... and I believe this one to be genuine as well.

6. rockdude

rockdude Coin Collector

Looks genuine! Nice one to own.

7. alicechaos

alicechaos Junior Member

Can you point me in the right direction, or post a link to the thread? Thanks!

8. alicechaos

alicechaos Junior Member

And I just found a couple others also! So, did the mint circulate multiple error coins, or did the counterfeiters circulate them? Or both?

This one is slightly different from mine.
    http://128.192.145.172/unknown/cud.jpg

9. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?