Coin Dreams, Books, Finds, New Passion

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by miaione, Jul 28, 2004.

1. miaione

miaione New Member

Do you ever have dreams that you are going through piles of old silver coins? Or that someone is just handing a big bag of coins over to you? I have these dreams a few times a week. I love them!
    I
    have had 2 semi-exciting finds in the past month - i found a war nickel in my husband's pocketchange and I got a 1930 wheatie back from a cashier.

I have also developed a soft spot in my heart for Barbers. I have bought a few VF halves from a local dealer and they are great.

Anyway, I have not been posting lately because I have been using my spare time reading more books about coins.

I am still a newbie and there is so much to learn!

Sometimes these good books are hard to find...
    Any of you pros out there have any recommendations? Do you have a "Coin Bible" that you cannot live without?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

There are countless books - depending on the area of study you wish to pursue. But it sounds like you need the Breen Encyclopedia - a good all around volume for all US coins.

4. jody526

jody526 New Member

Let's see..
    Of course there's the Krause catalog.

And when you're ready to branch out a bit, the Standard Catalog of United States Tokens (1700-1900) by Russell Rulau.

5. rick

rick Coin Collector

Is krause considered a good source for US coins?

I know they are listed there, but everyone seems to refer to the red book or blue book for US stuff in my limited experience.

When I started out collectin foreign coins, I used the black book for reference, but that is extremely limited and not very helpful for identification.

6. susanlynn9

susanlynn9 New Member

Personally, I couldn't live without the Red Book Guide to US Coins. It doesn't have as many of the varieties but it has grading points for most coins. Just my 2 cents worth.

7. ziggy29