Coin Dealers

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by bromac4, Jun 3, 2004.

1. bromac4

bromac4 Senior Member

I would just like to briefly share my experiences with 2 different coin dealers. I am curious to know if this is typical.
    I am a novice collector ,I've only been at it for a couple of years. I live in a small community about 50 miles from a larger centre where these 2 dealers are located.
    The first dealer runs a very large operation. Two pages in every issue of Canadian Coin news and over 650 current E-bay auctions. The phisical store is tiny and usually everyone seems very busy.I am given the impression that no one has any interest in chatting with me about anything. I have to admit here that this first impression has prevented me from even trying.
    The second is a very young guy who has only been in business for a little over a year.I sure you can figure out by now that he knows my name and is only too happy to talk about coins.Even if the store is busy the atmosphere is such that all the customers join in the discussions. A trip to this store is always an enjoyable and informative experience.
    My question as I stated earlier is are my experiences typical.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. CohibaCris

CohibaCris New Member

More typical than I would have hoped, I suspect.

ND can definitely shed more light on this, as can others who are dealers, but the business side of the profession can either be the only reason you are a coin dealer, or you can do the business to support the hobby and the desire to educate others.

I think most dealers start out wanting to educate, with those that are in it just for the money in the minority. As they progress in the profession, I dunno what the statistics are.?.?.?.

4. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator