Are these counterfeit?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by rlm's cents, Mar 15, 2010.

1. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jmon

jmon Numismatist In Training

I dont know that I would say the are cast's, but, they certainly dont look right to me.

4. BALD SPARTAN

BALD SPARTAN Member

I an no professional but IMO they have a very clear date while the rest of the coins shows the exact amount of wear on all areas of the coin. Even a old coin has some contrast in wear in high and low spots.

5. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

No more comments?

6. Lugia

Lugia ye olde UScoin enthusiast

i wouldnt bid on any of them. if they arent fake theyre definately problem coins.

7. chumpchange

chumpchange Junior Member

I am new to collecting and I have never even held one of these coins in my hand, but that won't stop me from offering an opinion. :)

-What are all those little black spots on the obv of the 1871? Are they pits from air bubbles? And what is that 'blob' on the rim above the F on the reverse?

- If I owned these and planned to sell them on ebay, why wouldn't I get them slabbed so I can try and command a premium? The 1850 in the condition he is stating in his description (which is clearly too high) is a $2k coin, no? Why sell it raw?

8. LostDutchman

LostDutchman Under Staffed & Overly Motivated Supporter

They look like some of the junkier Chinese knock offs.

9. Zuhara

Zuhara Junior Member

I am new to coin collecting, especially American coins which I know almost nothing about. How does it pay anyone to counterfeit a $15 coin?! That is pretty scary. While these coins look kind of blah to me, kind of lifeless, aside from that I don't see much here that would tell me anything. If any of you have the time, I would very much appreciate knowing exactly what diagnostic details you are looking for. What tells you that this coin is a problem?

10. ozarktravler

ozarktravler Senior Member