1968 cent error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by bliss70, Apr 12, 2005.

1. bliss70

bliss70 Junior Member

This is my first attempt at finding an error so please bare with me. This is a 1968 cent found in some change. It has no mint mark and when looking at it with a magnifying glass I can see that one, the L in liberty has a dot on it, it is almost touching the i. The Words In God We Trust seem to be touching the rim of the coin as well. There also seems to be a notch or something at Lincoln's throat above the tie. The 6 in the date seems to also have a dot inside. On the reverse there is a dot above the T in Cent. The letters also look spaced apart too much in America. The fg seems to be resting on the memorial. Of course this could be my eyes playing tricks on me or I am just hoping to hard to find an error? lol Thank you for any comments and suggestions.
    These pictures are with my scanner, I am trying to figure out how to get really close without distorting them.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Madman

Madman New Member

There are several things that could account for the things you are seeing. The "dots" in the letters or numbers are most likely die chips, which shows that the die is starting to wear out. The spacing in "AMERICA" looks normal in the picture and the location the designers intials also look normal. I can't see the notch in the throat in the picture, so I can't say what that could be.

4. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

It's not unusual to find small variations like you mention. They are due to die wear, the coin being struck very slightly off center, mechanical doubling etc.

In other words - this is a normal coin.

5. lawdogct

lawdogct Coin Collector

Your image is too dark to tell, but I just happened to see this article on coppercoins.com the other night. If you have a loop (magnifying class) check to see how your coin compairs to THIS 1968 cent

6. bliss70

bliss70 Junior Member