1943 Copper Nickel

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by saywhy, Oct 15, 2008.

1. saywhy

saywhy New Member

Just a quick question I was going through one of my friends coins and I believe I found a 1943 copper nickel in his change, now I understand that that the war time penny is worth a lot of money, which means a coin that should not been made, should be worth more then the penny, but who am I...I don't even know if it is real...Maybe some one can take a look at the scans and tell me what you think....Please take it easy on me I am new to this and I am trying to learn.....

[​IMG][​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. logical123

logical123 Senior Member

I have found coins like that in the past. Sadly, it is just an overly tarnished 1943 Nickel. Not bad shape though! :p

4. Greyford

Greyford Senior Member

These nickels are called silver war nickels. They are 15% silver if I remember right and they are worth about $1.25. Yours however looks really nice so it may be worth more than that. Keep up the good work!

5. saywhy

saywhy New Member

@logical123

I wish it was tarnished, then it would be easy to say, but I am sorry it is not tarnished...It is truly a rose color copper on the coin, great color in fact...I am not saying that this is a copper nickel, but I am wondering if it is, for there is some that is out there more rarer then the 1943 penny...But again I don't know for I am new to this this is why I am asking for help....

6. logical123

logical123 Senior Member

Take a look at the steps. There is a 'silver' color there where the tarnish or 'copper' color has worn away. Worth about $2 in my book, because that is nice toning, and it is in good condition.

7. saywhy

saywhy New Member

@ Greyford