1887 7/6 Morgan Silver Dollar

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by coinage 10, Aug 23, 2007.

1. coinage 10

coinage 10 New Member

Many years ago when I was a kid I purchased this coin for $4.75 (at that time it was described as “Choice BU”). I know its tough to tell with these images, but I’d sure appreciate anyone’s opinion or approximation regarding its grade or condition.

I have supplied a PCGS certified example (MS-64) for comparison – if helpful. I know absolutely nothing about the “VAM System”, and based on a few other certified examples of other Morgan Dollars I’ve seen feel really hopeless at assessing anything better than MS-60 (at least with Morgan Dollars).

Thanks, A.J.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rftbunny

rftbunny New Member

im new to coins but if your coin is the one ontop those are really nice... and i think they would definately get over ms60

4. bqcoins

bqcoins Olympic Figure Skating Scoring System Expert

I'd call it ms-63

5. MorganLady

MorganLady New Member

Hi,

I’m into Morgans and that’s one of the nicest coins I’ve seen in quite a while. MS-65 seems possible to me.

6. Jim M

Jim M Ride it like ya stole it

MS63 with a bath years ago. The coin looks dull to me, but it could be the pictures.

7. tjenkins_1983

tjenkins_1983 Numismaniac

I'm pretty sure it's the pictures. I've noticed that same dullness on coins that have been scanned. Actual pictures are much brighter.

8. zaneman

zaneman Former Moderator

I hope I am wrong about this, but I don't believe that your morgan is the overdate variety. There typically is a raised piece of metal from where the overdate was to the lef of the 7, and the metal to the right is more pronounced on the 7/6 than what I am seeing on yours. :(

9. Jako lipo

Jako lipo New Member

i think it is a strongly dipped au-58 i see wear on the hair

10. huntsman53

huntsman53 Supporter**