1776 Continental Dollar

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by kevincoin, Mar 2, 2010.

1. kevincoin

kevincoin Junior Member

I recently acquired this coin and don't really know much about it.
    Looking to sell it and was wanting to get as much for as it as I can.

I'm a newbie here and to coins. I've actually had it for a very long time but had it put away and forgot I had it. Again, Ihave no idea of it's worth.

Could someone tell me if I should have this appraised or take it to a auction
    or perhaps sell to a member.

Thanks for any help at all
    Links below:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. LewR

LewR Junior Member

I would love to have this in my collection - but I doubt it is in my price range - Good Luck with it!!

4. nss

nss Gold Plated Member

It looks like a cast fake, er, replica.

5. ozarktravler

ozarktravler Senior Member

what the wieght in grams ?

6. nss

nss Gold Plated Member

7. ozarktravler

y

compare your coin to this rare silver cast 1776 variety of the continental dollar.

Attached Files:

8. kevincoin

kevincoin Junior Member

Looks just like the silver one. How can I tell if it's an original or not?

What's the grams on an original vs. replica?

9. ozarktravler

kevin, you can wiegh the coin, the hollow cast copies wiegh about 18 grams,the real ones 26 grams. ... also....carefully, rub the edge on white paper, you should be able write almost as if a pencil. take a good look with magnify glass, you should see cast bubble (tiny speckle holes) WE ALL wish/want these continental dollars to be real and some are. there were thousands of real nice copies made/cast during the 1960ies. Hope this helps, ozarktravler

10. kevincoin

kevincoin Junior Member

Just tried it and it definately writes like a pencil. Also has small pitholes, you can see them in the pics when you zoom them up near where it says Fugio

11. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor