What does this 80 S Morgan grade at NGC?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by LostDutchman, Aug 10, 2012.

1. LostDutchman

LostDutchman Under Staffed & Overly Motivated Supporter

This guy is going in this coming week... anyone wanna take a crack at what it will grade?

80s1.jpg 80s2.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Leadfoot

Leadfoot there is no spoon

4. Morgandude11

Morgandude11 As long as it's Silver, I'm listening

5. Detecto92

Detecto92 Well-Known Member

I'm not good at grading these. But I would say MS 66 on up, I think it's a PL as well. Very nice coin.

6. mrbrklyn

mrbrklyn New Member

I can't fully tell from the photograph but i was going to say say 65. I started at 64 and climbed up. It is a great strike. Is it proof? It has the rub marks on the high points of the cap ect, and I can't figure out what all that noise in in the fields. The strike is perfect... so I bumped it up to a 65, assuming the fields noise in only in the photograph and there are no bag marks to speak of, just the rub marks.

7. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie

A little nick on her rim. I like her at MS65PL.

8. mrbrklyn

mrbrklyn New Member

Interesting. I didn't see that on the reverse but I haven't changed my mind.

9. texmech

texmech Wanna be coin collector

I would say 65pl as well

10. LindeDad

LindeDad His Walker.

I'm at MS65PL the frost break on the cheek is the main distraction to my eye.

11. bahabully

bahabully Junior Member

65n1.. pl... nice coin.

12. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

My grade I'm torn between 64PL and 65PL. I don't like the frost break on the cheek or the obv and rev rim dings. And the rims seem to have a lot of light chatter. For an '80-S, think I'd have to stick at 64PL, but a high end one.

NGC - who knows. I expect they'll say at least 65PL but 66PL sure won't surprise me. Honestly don't believe the coin deserves it though.

13. rev1774

rev1774 Well-Known Member