Is this a doubled die?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by BigTee44, Apr 22, 2014.

1. BigTee44

BigTee44 Well-Known Member

Or is it machine doubling?

image.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. It is really hard to tell if it is double-die, or just an old type of embossing. Im not sure what coin it is because it is so close-up, but I would probably google that exact coin and see what the actual double-die looks like and compare it. I apologize if my insite is lame, but this works for me almost every time I have a problem like this. just an idea. good luck!

4. BigTee44

Buffalo nickel.

5. I did a comparison and uploaded what I found. I am by no means an expert. i am just a new collector so I apologize if my input is amateur. It looks like the double Die coin is more extreme than the one you have. I am not sure if there are levels of variation in how much offset the two dies are. Yours seems to look more like the one that is not DD, but its best to wait for a pro to answer this question. see my comparison attached. good luck! comparison.jpg

josh's coins likes this.
  6. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

the one is a 1918/7 over-date

7. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

The coin is not a DDO, strike doubling.

Look at the flat shelf like appearance

8. Jim M

Jim M Ride it like ya stole it

Here is a hint.. look at the lower portion of the 8 in the loop. also look at the F below the date..

Google it..

9. 10gary22

10gary22 Junior Member

I believe it to be MD.