Copper Hunters, post your results!

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by silv, Nov 3, 2013.

1. silv

silv Active Member

Since that other thread is mostly for silver hunting, I want to start a thread for those who stack copper from penny rolls. I think it is getting more and more common, and should be interesting to watch the copper percentages dwindle as time marches on.

As most of you know pennies made of copper are dated 1982 and older. Some 1982 are copper, some are not. The most reliable way to tell the 1982 difference is by weight - copper pennies are just over 3 grams, and non-coppers are just over 2.5 grams. The completed wrapped copper roll should weight about 155 grams.

I'm no expert, am rather new at this, but have done a little research... a year ago it seems about every dollar of pennies yielded about 20% copper ones. I am guessing this percentage is already less. Today on eBay the current market value for $10 face of copper seems to be about $16-$17 (plus folks are usually paying shipping). Today's copper value is $3.20/pound. It is currently illegal to melt the pennies, but that obviously doesn't stop the hoarding! I presume that one day the melting ban will be lifted, especially if the copper pennies disappear from circulation.

I just hunted $20 of rolls from the local bank:
    $3.32 copper pennies (including 9 wheats, 1936 oldest and a nice looking 1937)
    Copper yield = 16.66%

Is this good, bad, average? Post your results!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Zach DuBois

Zach DuBois Member

The last $50 bag I did was about 7-8 months ago and it had $17.87, 23 wheats including a 1910 and I found 8 candadians 35.74% copper. I havent done any lately but I cant wait to start up again

4. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member