benefit being graded 1884 o morgan

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by daytripper, Apr 27, 2012.

1. daytripper

daytripper New Member

good day everyone, i am new to coin forums, but not new to collecting. i started collecting coins and currency when i was about 8 yrs old. its a decent collection which i am constantly adding to. i am going to pass it down to my kids when my time comes. recently i acquired an 1884 O Morgan. normally i know about what a coin is valued at, but i am stumped here. i have shown it to 4 different people, 2 of which were working in a coin shop, and i have gotten 4 very different answers. so i am wondering if this is a borderline great condition coin that i should mail in and have graded, or just put a note on the case for my kids. any opinions would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide this ad.
  3. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

Your photos are too out of focus to be able to help you at all regarding the grade of the coin.

What did the 4 people tell you? Were they in disagreement as to whether the coin is circulated or mint state? Were they in agreement that the coin is uncirculated (or circulated) but disagree as to the exact grade? Did they not agree as to whether the coin has been cleaned, polished or whizzed? (It looks like it may have been polished in the photos but, as I said, the photos are too blurry for me to make out much at all.) Do some of them think the coin is genuine but others think the coin is fake?
  4. daytripper

daytripper New Member

no just way different values from $40 to $350. here are some better pics(i think,used macro with digi camera instead of iphone), thanks a bunch!!

Attached Files:

5. daytripper

daytripper New Member

oops, theese pics came out wore than the others, ill try again
  6. jhinton

jhinton Active Member