beginners luck newbie here!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by coinling, Mar 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coinling

coinling New Member

I never thought much about coins until I bought a Morgan Silver Dollar from China through ebay. It just kinda looked like a real neat coin and I got pulled into bidding and won it for $32.71 with $1 for shipping. It is a 1879 Morgan Silver Dollar, Carson City mint, XF-40. You can probably guess the rest!! China offers so many opportunities for coin collectors ... and so many counterfeits ... you have to be careful ... but hey! ... you know the old saying 'High risk 4 High gain!' ... love the adventure!!!
  2. Avatar

Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide this ad.
  3. CopperJacket

CopperJacket New Member

Welcome to CoinTalk!
  4. Taxidermist

Taxidermist Collector of IL/RU/US/DE

By luck you mean that you got a real 1879 Morgan Silver Dollar Carson City in XF-40? I am not sure I can guess the rest... Did you realize the coin is fake? Or did you check it and found out its real?
  5. splintercellsz

splintercellsz CTs Local DJ

Even though it is probally a fake, still a neat coin to look at, and what not!
  6. coinling

coinling New Member

Morgan silver dollars from this sellers vanished all to quickly! I don't think it is fake! It looks and feels very authentic. I have some counterfeit coins from China that look and feel fake! What would it cost to get it certified?
  7. Taxidermist

Taxidermist Collector of IL/RU/US/DE

There is a chance it is indeed made of silver, but I`ll believe its not a fake after I see it slabbed. It doesn't matter how quickly they vanish, eBay is full of morons.

Not sure about certification price, but if I`m not wrong, someone here mentioned it starts from the $35 area. You can find more on NGC/PCGS/ANACS websites.
  8. Lon Chaney

Lon Chaney New Member