1934 Silver penny? =\

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Kidany, Mar 18, 2012.

1. Kidany

Kidany New Member

So I found a 1934 silver wheat penny or that is what it seems cuz it is blurry (its not 1943 at least cuz the 193- is clear). I would like to know if it is fake or not or w/e (I couldn't find any information in the web)... I tested it with a magnet and didn't stick so I guess its not zinc? I'm new to this <.<
    coins.jpg
    i don't have a good camera so I scanned it (the scanner isn't so good neither) -.- its the first time i see one like this so i thought it was rare

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Lon Chaney

Lon Chaney Well-Known Member

4. Cazkaboom

Cazkaboom One for all, all for me.

Looks like a well used and well damaged Zinc plated cent.

5. lupinus911

lupinus911 Member

I'd say a 1980's penny with copper removed so that zinc is exposed and 8 just looks like 3.

6. tonedcoins

tonedcoins New Member

7. Kidany

Kidany New Member

it really looks like a 3... but idk. I got this when i went to exchange my piggy bank in a coinstar machine the coin was rejected cuz it was really dirty and when i saw it had the wheat leaves i decided to clean it... turns out it was silver color and I was like wtf >.>

btw... what Pmd means? -.-

8. jcakcoin

jcakcoin New Member

PMD- post mint damage

9. Kidany

Kidany New Member

Looks better here
    mcoin.jpg mcoin2.jpg

...:dead-horse:

10. splintercellsz

splintercellsz CTs Local DJ

Have any pics of the back?

11. Kidany

Kidany New Member

12. splintercellsz

splintercellsz CTs Local DJ

It looks to be HEAVY PMD, with severe discoloration, but I maybe wrong.

13. lupinus911

lupinus911 Member

That is definitely zinc.

14. Kidany

Kidany New Member

ugh sorry ! i didnt know this was against rules XD im still PMDed

15. james m. wolfe

james m. wolfe New Member

16. rodeoclown

rodeoclown Dodging Bulls