 | |
06-26-2009, 07:07 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | The Other Frank
Join Date: Oct 2006 Location: New York
Posts: 16,668
|
First, welcome to the forum.
You need a copy of Judd for Rarity.
I'll check & let you know.
Nice piece,, by the way.
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:11 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 52
My Mood: | You can learn about design and creation of the new silver coins in 1916 in the book “Renaissance of American Coinage 1916-1921.” It has photos of all the patterns and information from original sources that is not available elsewhere. RWB |
| |
06-26-2009, 07:11 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | The Other Frank
Join Date: Oct 2006 Location: New York
Posts: 16,668
|
J-1797 is now = J-1992.
rarity L7.
= Low R-7 = #7 to 12 known.
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:12 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | The Other Frank
Join Date: Oct 2006 Location: New York
Posts: 16,668
|
RWB
Nice comments, and welcome to the forum, also.
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:14 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
|
Thanks guys - I was more curious about this coin than anything. I didn't know it existed, and did a double take when viewing the picture.
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:17 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 418
My Mood: |
Cool pattern half. I definitely wouldn't buy it on Ebay from that seller, and I probably wouldn't pay that much for it anywhere- but it is super cool.
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:21 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
| Quote:
Originally Posted by physics-fan3.14 Cool pattern half. I definitely wouldn't buy it on Ebay from that seller, and I probably wouldn't pay that much for it anywhere- but it is super cool. | yeh, and the weird thing is that seller has low feedback and is selling a fortune worth of coins: http://shop.ebay.com/merchant/supecool
Last edited by tavenger5; 06-26-2009 at 07:29 PM.
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:25 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 418
My Mood: | Quote:
Originally Posted by tavenger5 | Which is immediately suspicious, in my book. The guy might have the stuff - but he might be "borrowing" pictures from other sources, and trying to run a scam. Or, they might be counterfeits. Unfortunately, legitimate new dealers often get the bum rap on Ebay because of all the counterfeiters.
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:30 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
|
Are there a lot of counterfeiters on ebay? I wonder if this place started a new account after getting too much bad feedback.
The tag on the back of the coins points to this place: http://www.rlhe.net It looks like all of their stuff is overpriced. The site itself borrows some images from pcgs.com...
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:59 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | What Goes Around Comes A
Join Date: Apr 2008 Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,447
My Mood: | Quote:
Originally Posted by tavenger5 | I see the feedback as 100% , whichin itself is kinda suspicious .
rzage
__________________
Instant Karmas gonna
Get you:John Lennon
ANA member
#R3146234
|
| |
06-26-2009, 07:35 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 52
My Mood: |
Hmmm....stellas on down....
|
| |
06-26-2009, 08:03 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | Senior Citizen
Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: New Jersey
Posts: 479
My Mood: |
I call this the "retirement" scam... just sell a few of those high end coins (which the buyers never see), grab the bucks and retire to "parts unknown".
__________________
Jim
|
| |
06-26-2009, 10:00 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | Rare coin dealer
Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,668
| Quote:
Originally Posted by jloring I call this the "retirement" scam... just sell a few of those high end coins (which the buyers never see), grab the bucks and retire to "parts unknown". | I think the seller is a legitimate high profile dealer and not a scammer.
|
| |
06-27-2009, 12:00 AM
|
#15 (permalink)
| | Indian Buffalo Gatherer
Join Date: Feb 2009 Location: San Antonio
Posts: 6,314
My Mood: | Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Feld I think the seller is a legitimate high profile dealer and not a scammer. | Agreed, nothing leads me to believe that this person is a scammer.
And to the OP, thanks for the link, those are some nice coins that, that seller has up for sale
|
| |  | | Would you like to support CoinTalk?
Coin Talk Code of Honor
1. Post unto others as you would have them post unto you.
2. Keep it clean, like a 1950s family television show.
3. If you don't like the coin, don't trash the person. | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Rate This Thread | Hybrid Mode | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | | » Newsletter | » Sponsors | | » Recent Posts | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | » Today's Top Posters | | Top Posters in Last 1 Days | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |